We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Voters from European Union Countries

European Union Flag

Citizens of European Union Countries living in the UK can vote in Local Elections and European Elections but not Parliamentary Elections.

(subject to a declaration that will not be voting in European Elections their home country)

For more details on European Union Citizens voting in European Elections in the United Kingdom please contact the Electoral Commission or the Local Elections Office as detailed on the "Register to Vote" page.

Local Elections include elections to a Local Council, The Welsh, Northern Ireland & London Assemblies, The Scottish Parliament and the election of a directly elected mayor.

As a result of plans for the United Kingdom to leave the European Union, these voting rights may be subject to change. We have no information about this at the present time.

return to the main voting page @

Commonwealth Countries within the European Union

Cyprus, Malta GC, United Kingdom

Other Countries within the European Union

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark

Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece

Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania

Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Electors should check the information on this page with the Electoral Commission or their local Elections Office before acting on it - page last revised May 18